brew-hoo-hoo

so went to the brewery today to hook up the monitoring stuff.

got it out, hooked it up to a tank. went to the computer. plugged in the xbee explorer. had to download the FTDI drivers, but that was expected. copied the software over. CRASH!

so I am sitting there like WTF then started to wonder about updates on their machine. and sure enough they didnt have .NET 3.5 or the SP1 so my app couldn’t find System.Linq and I couldn’t compile it into a .Net 2.0 project because I am using Linq.

today was the first time I have actually used my Publish feature on a project. it allowed me to select dependencies and .Net 3.5 SP1 was already selected so I published it and copied it over and ran the “Installer” and it of course needed to add .Net 3.5 SP1.

once it got everything installed we started it up and started monitoring the tank we plugged in and the temperature on the tank was 192. WHAT?!?! so either in the time it took us to walk from the back of the brewery to the front, the tank went up to near boiling, or the readings were wrong.

so as it turns out, the voltage readings between modules were different… I am not sure how that happens and it makes me wonder how accurate those things really are but between the one I got to test on, and the one strapped to a tank, it was reporting different temps.

So now what? I guess I am going to either switch to the LM35 or the DS1822 One Wire sensors. I have both of those laying around.

what does that mean, well it means i have to make a new enclosure for the sensor and inject it into the same port their temp sensor is in.

I guess another good thing that came out of it was I now have a better idea of what all they want to monitor. They want ambient room temps, outside temps, cold room temps AND tank temps. So I am going to be working on this stuff for a while.

Im thinking the arduino is a little overboard for what I need since i can just get an ATMega and some sort of wireless chip and communicate but for now, this works fine. well, once we get our own sensors in there.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

